-The Golden Globes on Monday had exactly two compelling moments to it. The first was probably missed by a vast majority of the viewing audience, but when they were cutting to commercial, they show Puff Daddy (that's his name and I don't care what anyone else, including himself, thinks) and Jay-Z shooting the breeze. Now, imagine that, in a room full of high powered Hollywood types, the two rappers just so happenned to be caught mid-conversation. What are the odds of that? It would be like a three way conversation between Stephen Spielberg, Dustin Hoffman and Barbara Steisand over pastrami sandwiches at Katz's Deli.
The other was, of course, Sascha Baron Cohen's acceptance speech. I really enjoyed when he started talking about the ugly side of America and baited people into thinking he was making a political statement, and did a complete 180 and discussed the uncomfortable naked scene in the movie. Good stuff. The man is a master manipulator in the best sense of the word and will hopefully get an Oscar to match his globe.
-After doing my best to avoid it for its entire run, I've now become a somewhat of a begrudging Law & Order fan. I probably couldn't watch all three originals each week and don't watch it in reruns, but it's always a solid one hour dose of drama. But, here's my gripe: the use of semi-known actors sort of takes away from some elements of the show. Take last night's SVU. There was a scene where a doctor is being questioned for a string of rapes at his hospital. Now, during that scene, Kal Penn (Harold & Kumar) shows up as a janitor and says one line and that was pretty much it. Now, I know Penn isn't an A list star, but it seemed a bit off that he had such a small role. So, naturally, I assumed it would turn out that he, not the doctor, was the real bad guy. And I deduced this solely on his appearance alone.
I understand the desire to have famous folks make cameos, but things like this just ruin any show where there's any sort of intrigue or mystery.
-Finally, my stomach has been revolting for the last 72 hours. I've tried to stay positive, but everytime I watch TV, I see a damn food commercial. I can only wonder what watching Top Chef is gonna be like under these circumstances. DAMN YOU GUT! YOU DID THIS TO ME!